Hurray for Missions!

Hey Famiglia!!

I’d just like to start off by saying sorry for the super short e-mail last week, there just weren’t enough hours in the day.  But the sacrifice of Internet time was worth it!

So, I’ll start off with some really good news!  We’ll be having a baptism this Saturday for Angela!  [As always, the names of investigators have been changed.]  She’s the most prepared person I’ve ever met.  The lessons we’ve taught her have been something really special for me.  In these lessons I could really tell that we weren’t the teachers at all.  The real teacher was the Spirit.  We always teach with the Spirit, but this time seemed extra special.  A lot of the time, words flow out of my mouth that I don’t even plan on, and our lessons with Angela were no exception.  It’s really neat.  Afterwards when we were talking about her baptism, she asked me to baptize her.  It was such a cool moment.  We’ll be doing the ordinance down the coastline near Capocolonna, the ruins of an ancient temple.  I can’t wait!

It’s been really interesting to see how important it’s been to learn to communicate in the language of the Spirit.  I really love teaching.  Teaching the piano before the mission was good, but teaching the Gospel is even better! It really is super refreshing to be able to teach these Gospel principles, the things that are the most important things in the world.  I really love communicating to people the things that will help them in every aspect of their life, and using my life experiences to bear my testimony to them of the blessings that come from the Church.  I’ve learned a lot about speaking in the language of the Spirit, a blessing that’s come from my mission that I’d never trade for anything.  It’s going really well here!

I’ve also started seeing the Spirit help in church.  Thankfully, in my talks I don’t have to write them down anymore because I can get around in my Italian decently enough so that I can say what I want to say without reading them.  It’s been a really cool experience doing it like that now because I find myself speaking more clearly and hitting details that are most important.  The Spirit works the same way in those instances for me as well.  I’ve always been a bit shy at the pulpit, but my confidence has been waxing strong.

In church, our attendance has been booming, and investigators have been “flocking” to church. 😉    We’ve had a consistent 7 investigators in church the past couple of weeks.  After Angela’s baptism, I’m really looking forward to 2 more baptisms in a couple of weeks that seem really promising as well.

OH!  Before I forget, HAPPY ANNIVERSARY THIS WEEK!  Yay!

And also, another streak of incredible luck, Aunt Linda and Dave’s card arrived safe and sound!  One of the sister missionaries in Crotone went to Rome last week and was able to pick up all of our mail for us.  It was awesome, I had a huge stack of letters.  Thanks to everyone for the cards!  It was really awesome to get them!

And thanks for giving Junior the info!  He sent me an e-mail today.  It was good to hear from him!

Unfortunately, all the good news couldn’t last.  I got a call last night around 10:45.  Salvatore’s fiancèe got in a car accident last night.  Eleonora was in the car with her parents last night driving back from Bari because there was a church activity there.  On their way back, they got hit by a drunk driver.  No one was killed, but they did get beat up pretty bad.  Eleonora’s parents didn’t take any serious injuries, but Eleonora did get hit in the face.  Her mouth is pretty torn up, and she lost at least a couple teeth.  But the worst part, it sounds like her eye got hit/cut/or something, and they had to operate on her eye last night.  There’s a very real possibility that she won’t be able to see out of that eye anymore.  I believe they spent the night in Crotone’s hospital.  Luckily, Brother Sarcone is a member of the branch here in Crotone, and he’s basically in charge of the Crotone hospital; a very influential man.  I think he was able to help out a lot.  It’s a really sad situation.  Pray for them!

Well, I’d better wrap it up. I still haven’t had time to find some shoes that fit me yet, but today we’re going to the mall to do some shopping.  The main problem is that my feet are way too big.  Italians don’t have big feet!!

I know where everybody is in the mission, I have what’s called a “trunk sheet”.  It has all the names of all the missionaries and each city that they’re in, with addresses and phone numbers.  It’s a tool they give the missionaries so that we can contact each other for referrals and such.  But also, in other news, we now have texting, whereas before, we didn’t.  Yay!

Ciao for now!
Anziano Jones

P. S.  No pictures, SORRY!!!!

2 thoughts on “Hurray for Missions!

  1. This is Anziano Faggioli’s mom, Just wanted to say we are Happy that things are going so well for Anziano Jones . I like to follow his blog because he is so informative, and writes wonderful uplifting letters. Please send him our best and let him know that Anziano Faggioli is doing well. Will also remember “Eleanor” & Salvatore in our prayers.

    • Janice, how nice to hear from you again. I will pass along your comment to Craig in my email this week, and thank you for your concern for his friends Salvatore and Eleonora. I will be asking Craig about her, and hopefully he will have some good news.

Leave a Reply

