Taranto Zone Conference

Hey Famiglia!

I don’t know if you’ve ever happened to read in Acts chapter 27, but I can tell you that it’s true.  The crazy winds from Paul’s journies have returned with a vengeance, and are here in Crotone.  We’ve had some pretty ugly weather for a while over here.  (Just a quick fact:  did you know that Pythagoras lived here in Crotone?) [I had no idea who Pythagoras was, so I looked it up.  He lived around 500 BC and was a Greek philosopher, mathematician and founder of the religious movement called Pythagoreanism.]

I have a piece of really tragic news now.  So a couple of weeks ago I used a computer with a really crappy anti-virus system on it, and when I plugged in my camera’s card, it started to attack my card.  I managed to stop it and save the pictures, but the files were all messed up and were not accessible from a computer with anything less than Windows 7.  It was a really weird situation, and I don’t really know how to describe it.  Anyways, last week I had plugged it in to a computer and was messing with it a little bit to try and figure it out, but….  ALL the pictures got deleted.  Thankfully I had backups of my first 2 transfers in Caserta, but not any of the 3rd (except for those that I’ve sent you), and my first here in Crotone.  Luckily Anziano Robertson has a lot of the same pictures here in Crotone that I can take, but I lost quite a few of the good ones from my last moments in Napoli… 😦  Noooo!!!  I’ve had to start from square one this week….

As for mom’s questions:  Yes I got the card, and I’ve already got the money out and I put it in the card, but I didn’t get the package yet.  I’ll probably have to wait until next zone conference (six weeks).  The Italian shoes were only £31, a really good deal.  They were on sale and are really spiffy looking and actually really comfortable.  I like them a lot!  Yes, I’m fairly sure I’ll want to wait until Fall 2015 to start school, and just work in the summer of 2015, but I’ll think about it and get back to you.  I know there is an Elder Stewart in the mission, but I’ve never met him.  I think I’ve hit them all!

Once I read the part you sent me about those Elders on Sicily getting robbed, I figured out why the office sent us e-mails today telling us to make sure we lock our doors… Yikes!

I can’t believe that it’s already week 4 here in the transfer.  It’s gone by pretty fast!

A recipe I’ve really started to like here in Italy is called Pasta al Forno.  It’s really yummy.  It’s Pasta in the oven (from what I can tell since forno means oven).  I have no idea how to make it, but I’ve had it a few times and I’ve never been disappointed by it.  Maybe you could give it a shot!  There’s lots of different variations, but I like the ones with beef, some eggs even, and lots of cheese!  For some reason Italians love to put hard boiled eggs in their lasagnas and pastas.  Don’t get me wrong, I like it, but it’s something different from what I’m used to.

We’ve found some really cool new investigators this week.  One is the nephew of a member already in the branch here in Crotone.  He has had some cool experiences in the past, and when we were teaching him about Joseph Smith, he stopped me mid-sentence and exclaimed, “That is EXACTLY the question I have!”  We taught him how to get his answer, and I hope he goes for it!  A very cool guy.

Well, the work is really going well for us here.  We’ve hit a little slump this week because we had to travel to the other side of Italy for zone conference, but it’s still going well.  Two of our investigators have set a (tentative) marriage date for the 21st of March so they can be baptized!!!  YAYY!!!!  They are super kind and even gave us dinner last night.  I love those two.

Unfortunately, it sounds like Eleonora won’t be able to see any more out of her left eye.  At the very best, if they do go through with a surgery, it will be like looking through a veil.  But she’s still really positive, and seems happy!

Well..  I can’t really think of too much else to write about.  Hmmm….  Italian is a fun language.  I’m feeling really comfortable in it.  I remember back to when I first arrived and was terrified of the phone because I spoke so horribly.  It’s completely different now!

Anyways, I’d better wrap it up.

Ciao!
Anziano Jones

P.S.  Here are some silly pics of us… 🙂

Craig sent some interesting photos this week, but he didn’t give any details about them.  I entered the words on that sign into an Italian/English translator, and it came back as, “Let’s Take a Picture Together?”

My guess for this photo would be that they are on the train headed to Taranto for the zone conference.  It looks like Anziano Robertson had time to catch a few winks.  I’m curious as to what caught Craig’s attention and caused him to make that face.

Craig didn’t give any details about this photo either, but by the looks on their faces, I’m wondering if they just got some bad news.

All of the rest of these photos were taken at the zone conference by Sister Waddoups and then posted on her blog.

Anziano Robertson is wide awake now.

The Taranto Zone.  Craig is in the second row toward the left.  Click the photo for a larger view.

Lunch was made by a member of the ward who owns a restaurant!  That looks yummy!  It might be some of the Pasta al Forno that Craig mentioned.

Mmmm!  Those look good, too!  I wonder what they are made of.

I think Craig is so handsome, but I know all moms feel that way about their sons.

I’m not sure what this is all about, but I bet they had a few laughs.

Love that kid!

The members of Craig’s district.

Another photo of the Taranto zone.  Click on the photo for a larger view.

Leave a Reply

