Another Baptism

Hey Famiglia!

This week was exhausting!  And transfer calls are this Saturday!!  Before I forget… Happy Father’s Day!!!!  Wahoo!  I will be deadly honest….  I looked on the calendar last Monday and saw that Father’s Day was on Sunday, and then I felt really guilty because I realized that even if I sent a letter the same day, it would have been pretty late…. Whoops!  But be expecting a cool postcard in the mail soon Dab :).  I hope you’ve enjoyed cruising around in the T-bird!!

Well, everyone here in Italy is going nuts for the world cup.  Italy beat England 2-1! Everyone came happy to church on Sunday because of that.  Hopefully they continue to do well.  They have the COOLEST world cup shirts here, but an authentic one is 80 Euros, and that’s way too pricey for me….  I’m hoping to be able to find a nice knock-off one. Italy has the coolest world cup jerseys.

I hope Ben and I will get to stay together for another transfer, but we’ll just have to see. He’s already been here 4 transfers though, which is quite a long time…

Well, this Saturday Ben and I had a baptism!  His name is Riccardo.  [The names of all investigators have been changed.]  He’s a really cool guy.  I think he is going to be super solid.  He understands the scriptures REALLY well and has a really strong testimony.  He’s gone to the beach a couple times with members actually.  Today for P-day we went with Riccardo and some members and played around with a frisbee and a soccer ball and stuff while we were there.  It was fun!  The water looked too inviting though :).  It was actually perfect though because it was a rainy day, so we were the only ones on the beach.

That’s interesting to hear about the Rawles and the Clarkes!  It will be weird to see how different the ward is once I get back.

On Wednesday this week we all went to Mistretta (half way across Sicily) to do a district blitz (Our district is pretty big….).  That area has been really hard for the past couple years so President sent us there to see if we could give it some life.  We found some really cool people over there.  Hopefully it will help them out!

This next Saturday we should be having another baptism with another African investigator. Hopefully all goes well with it!  His name is Eli.  His interview is tomorrow night.  On Monday this week we celebrated my one year in Italy mark and bought a meter long pizza.  We ate pizza for the next few days…. It was a lot of food!

The mission is the best thing ever.  Sorry I don’t really have time to put in too many spiritual insights very often, but I’m learning a lot out here!  This mission has definitely not been easy, but I hope this next year doesn’t go too fast!

Ciao for now!
Anziano Jones

The meter-long pizza!

Ben’s expressions always make me laugh.

Craig in Mistretta where they went to do the “blitz.”

It’s beautiful there!

Craig’s desk in their Trapani apartment.  I see he keeps a dart gun with ammunition just below his desk.

These last three pictures were taken at the baptism of Riccardo.

Leave a Reply

