Good News!

Hey Famiglia!

This week had an AWESOME finish.  We found a new family of 4 (soon to be 5 in a couple weeks)!  It was super awesome.  The father actually came to English course with his 9 year old son and wanted us to come over and teach the rest of his family some English.  So we agreed and set up the appointment for Saturday evening.  We were praying hard that we could open it up into a good gospel lesson after teaching a little bit of English to his wife (who is in her 9th month of pregnancy!).  He works for the Navy and wants to learn because he’ll be going to South Carolina for a couple weeks for training to become a drill instructor.  After about 5 minutes he asked us, “So what is it you Mormons really believe, I mean, what do you two actually do?”  Well…. We can explain that!  So now they have agreed to meet with us once a week.  They have a Book of Mormon and have agreed to read an assignment and pray about the book!  Wahoo!!  We’re praying really hard because it’s still really early in the teaching.  It was exactly what we needed here in Brindisi.  Yay!  He also does barrel racing on horses and won the Puglia region, and went to nationals.  He didn’t do so well there, but it’s still a cool hobby of his.

In other news, General Conference was awesome! I really enjoyed President Uchtdorf’s talks, along with lots of other talks.  They were all really good. We get to see all of the sessions but the Sunday afternoon because it’s on too late here.  By the way, there may be a virus on my camera’s memory card… I hope I don’t lose my photos.  I think I fixed the problem though, and I’ve sent most of the pics to you anyways.

Today we played zone soccer in Bari.  It was lots of fun!  It was raining really hard, but we had a good time anyways.  Now I’m super tired.  Oh!  And I got the package!!!  Yahoo!  Now that I’m in Bari, the packages come down for zone conferences.  I can’t wait to see what’s in there!  I’m waiting to open it until we get back to Brindisi on Tuesday night because it’s always difficult traveling with open packages.

I’m super sad to hear about those Cougars…. That’s the worst news ever.  I just can’t believe it.  I heard about it before e-mail because another missionary already heard about it.  What a shame.  They had a good shot at it all too!  A real good shot.

Yeah, our house is actually right on the train tracks.  They aren’t super loud though.  They don’t toot their horns right there, and they don’t really wake us up.  If you cross the street our building is on the right side of via Trento, the closest houses to the train tracks.

The clothes were hardly anything.  It was 12 for the pants, and 3 euros for some gloves for the winter.  I also got a new white shirt for 8.  Those are the only things I was really in need of, but I bought a t-shirt that I liked that was cool too.  I still haven’t found any good shoes yet… It’s the hardest thing to find because Italians have really small feet!

This week we spent time calling all of the numbers we had on the branch registry.  We also tried tracking a few down.  No luck yet, but we’ll keep working on those less actives.

Whelp, that’s about all the really cool things of this week…  It’s been raining a lot here.  I don’t mind it though because I didn’t see any rain all summer in Sicily!  Here in Puglia they have really good calzone thingies they call panzerotti.  I’m enjoying them lots!

It turns out I need to do my ecclesiastical endorsement process for BYU really soon, but I’m not really sure how to do it.  If you could maybe find out a little bit of info for me, that would be great!

Ciao!
Anziano Jones

A cool ship from Sicily that pulled into Brindisi’s port.

I found this picture on Regan Smith’s blog.  He was one of Craig’s roommates at the MTC, and that’s him closest to the camera.  Regan and his missionary pals are soaking their feet in fish tanks!  YUCK!  I’ve never seen anything like that here in the U.S., so I thought I would share it with you.  It looks like the elders are enjoying it, but I wouldn’t want to try it.  Click on the photo for a larger view.

Here is a picture I found of Panzerotti, the food that Craig said he enjoys in the Puglia region.

Leave a Reply

