Staying in Rome!

Hey Famiglia!

So the last batch of missionaries dying before me are here in Rome, getting ready to DIE tomorrow!!! Hahaha. I’m next!! We’re officially the oldest group around now! We are the first complete group that the Waddoups have seen the whole entire time here in Italy. We are the first they’ve seen come in and go out! That’s pretty cool!

By the way, I’ll be finishing up here in Rome, just like I imagined. I’m SUPER excited!! Also, Anziano Line will be staying up here, and Anziano Romano is coming into the district!!! I’m SO stoked!! It’s going to be a lot of fun this last transfer. We are a super old district! Three of us, (Me, Romano, and Bethke) will be finishing this transfer, and two (Line and Alvey) will be done next transfer. Crazy! Only Castillo will be left!

This week we had a really, really cool lesson again with our investigator, Eduardo [name has been changed]. We taught him about genealogy and family history. He got really excited and interested when we showed him familysearch.org and taught him about the importance of keeping track of our ancestors! He was curious about his dad’s side because they were all actually blond hair and blue eyes, but he was a little bit darker from his mom’s side. He wanted to know where they came from. We are going to set up a lunch with him and the bishop. I’m dying for him to be able to come to church on Sundays.

It’s so strange thinking that six weeks from today, I’ll be back over there at home! I’m trying not to think about it too much…. But sheesh! I’m also really excited for Skype. That is going to be lots of fun!

By the way, this computer’s USB port is broken, and so I’m not so sure I’ll get to upload any photos today…. 😦 Sorry! You got lots from last week though! 🙂

We found a really interesting guy this week on the street. We had a full lesson, and after all was said and done, and he had agreed on basically everything we taught, and then he refused the Book of Mormon. He thought it could be true and everything, but just wouldn’t accept it. He wants to hear all the lessons and to come to church, and see how we live our lives, but he wouldn’t take the book! I was so confused. He had no real explanation as to why not, either… It is so key for him to have! I hope he comes around the next time we see him! We promised him really good blessings for reading it, as well. We’ll see.

I’m so glad to be able to finish here with Anziano Castillo. It’s going to be so much fun! I like him lots. We work together great. I’m really glad I get to train him.

This week will be a bit crazy with all the transfers going on.  We’ll have to help everyone get to places, but it’s fun. Last transfer time it was pouring on us. Ugh. I’m hoping it doesn’t heat up anymore though, because it’s already getting pretty warm!

That’s about it for this week. I’m excited about Sports Authority! I think 20 hours is perfect. I’d maybe like to wait to start until the middle/end of the week, like the 4th or 5th of June, but if they need to train me sooner, I’d still do it. Cool. I’m really excited. Also, about the debit card, don’t bother activating it yet. We’ll do it once I get back because I don’t want mine having problems now.  Haha.

Ciao!
Anziano Jones

2 thoughts on “Staying in Rome!

  1. Hi Craig! I mean Elder Jones! So excited to see you in a few weeks! My son, Cameron, has been asked to provide the musical number for your homecoming and I thought it would be really cool if he played one of your favorite hymns on the piano. He is not as accomplished a pianist as you are yet, but I hope he can make up for that by playing one of your favorite songs. If you have a favorite hymn(s) will you let me know? Thanks, Craig!! So proud of all your hard work as a missionary. Thanks for being such an inspiration :-). – Amy

    • Amy, how nice that Cameron will be providing the musical number for Craig’s homecoming. I’m sure Craig will think that is great. I will forward your message to him and get back to you on Monday when we get his next email. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

